A faux break-up is just the beginning.

The Descendant’s Story
image
image

The series finally revealed how Yoon So-ah’s (Shin Se-kyung) ancestors end up indebted to the deities. The story turns out to be Ha Baek’s (Nam Joo-hyuk) first heartbreak as well. Such scenes make me wish they cast seasoned actors. Don’t get me wrong I love Nam Joo-hyuk to the moon and back but he still lacks the depth a veteran actor could bring to the character. He’s good at heart-thumping-swoon-inducing scenes but he lacks when his character needed to show the inner turmoil that he is currently going through. It didn’t help Shin Se-kyung’s acting is also a hit or miss. I’m invested in the story and characters so I’m really disappointed that an important scene lacks the punch it needed. But at least there some good scenes, which I’ll talk about further in this post.

The Second Couple’s Game
image
image

Bi Ryeom (Gong Myung) is playing the teasing game to the guardian god he secretly loves – Moo Ra (Krystal Jung). Their banters are so cute I wished they had more screen time. I wonder if their storyline will have a good ending especially now that Moo Ra is becoming blinded with the need to protect Ha Baek.

The Second Lead’s Offer
image

I’m not sure if I could use Hoo Ye (Im Joo-hwan) and adorable in one sentence. But I can’t think of any other word to describe his dinner date with So-ah and his attempt to make her feel better. I know Hoo Ye will take the dark path soon so I can’t fully fall in love with his character.

The Water Deity’s Goodbye
image

I’ve said it before that when I notice something bad in this series, it would then give me that one good scene and I’m back onboard. That breakfast scene of Ha Baek and So-ah was heart-wrenching. There was no shouting or wailing. It was as if Ha Baek was just giving reminders to So-ah over breakfast on an ordinary day. But in the end, he has to leave.

Maknae’s Episode Verdict
image

I’ve seen it before. I’m afraid their short break-up will only lead to a much longer separation. As the story progresses to its climax, I’ll brace myself for more heartbreaks and complications it’ll bring.

<< K-Drama Reaction: Bride of the Water God | Episode 11
<< K-Drama Reaction: Bride of the Water God | Episode 10
<< K-Drama Reactions: Bride of the Water God | Episode 9
<< K-Drama Reaction: Bride of the Water God | Episode 8
<< K-Drama Reaction: Bride of the Water God | Episode 7
<< K-Drama Reaction: Bride of the Water God | Episode 6
<< K-Drama Reaction: Bride of the Water God | Episode 5
<< K-Drama Reaction: Bride of the Water God | Episode 4
<< K-drama Reaction: Bride of the Water God | Episode 3
<< K-Drama Reaction: Bride of the Water God | Episode 2
<< K-Drama Reaction: Bride of the Water God | Episode 1

