I’m slowly getting attached to every character in this series.

Unlikely Squad

image

Yoo Hyun-jae (Yoon Si-yoon) decided to stay with Lee Ji-hoon (Kim Min-jae) for the mean time. The nice-guy trainee allowed Hyun-jae to his quarters but Choi Woo-seung (Lee Se-young) and MC Drill (Dong Hyun-bae) didn’t give up their places without a fight. Their farcical game made me laugh so hard I’m now excited to see them become closer.

image

There was also a scene that revealed Ji-hoon and Hyun-jae shared some sleeping habits. I suspect Lee Gwang-jae (Cha Tae-hyun) and Hong Bo-hee (Yoon Son-ha) are keeping something about Ji-hoon’s birth. And if my hunch that Hyun-jae and Ji-hoon are related, I’ll feel sad for Gwang-jae because I think he genuinely cares for both Ji-hoon and Bo-hee.

Encounters

This episode was filled with chance encounters that are probably foreshadowing of what is about to unfold and hints from the unclear past.

image

Park Young-jae (Hong Kyung-min), who seem to have his eyes fixated on buying the old World Entertainment building, was caught peeking inside their bakery. He is still being vague about his real intention but I think his character just want to prove his worth to other people rather than taking actual revenge on them.

image

We also got a glimpse of Hyun-jae and Bo-hee’s relationship. Both top stars at their time, they were running away from paparazzi when Bo-hee kiss Hyun-jae before they parted ways. Hyun-jae’s shocked reaction made me think their relationship wasn’t that established. No actual labels. Casual dating at most. But this is just probably me sympathizing to Gwang-jae and clinging to the hope that Bo-hee will see he was the man who did everything for her after Hyun-jae went missing.

image

Gwang-jae and Ji-hoon seem to share the nice-guy genes. Ji-hoon thought Do Hye-ri (Bona) would jump off the building so he suddenly ran and back-hugged her. But he was wrong. Ji-hoon and Hye-ri had a similar encounter in the practice room. I like how these meetings slowly made Hye-ri aware of Jihoon’s presence.

image

If there would be an award for the funniest encounter for this episode, Lee Soon-tae (Lee Deok-hwa) and Hyun-jae would take the gong. Soon-tae mistook Hyun-jae for a grim reaper because he was in a Lee Dong-wook inspired outfit. This build up my excitement to see Hyun-jae reunited with both Soon-tae and Gwang-jae.

Adulting hurdles

image

Just when Woo-seung thought her civil service exam was going smoothly, life played her in a ridiculous way. I’m hoping she’ll still pass the exam but since we’re still at the beginning of the series, Woo-seung would probably go through a whole lot of #adulting hurdles. Fighting Woo-seung!

image

I just recently discovered that Kim Min-jae was actually a rapper so I was still taken aback when his character, Ji-hoon, rapped for the trainee’s evaluation. His lyrics reflect the struggles of young people to find their place in this world. I slowly becoming Min-jae’s noona fangirl.

Maknae’s episode verdict

image

This episode has been effective in making me root for the characters, especially for Woo-seung and Ji-hoon. The Best Hit is showing how everyday life could be funny and heartbreaking at the same time.

<< K-Drama Reaction: The Best Hit | Episodes 3-4
<< K-Drama Reaction: The Best Hit | Episodes 1-2

