image

Our OTP has finally come into terms with their feelings. But is it enough to give them a happily ever after they deserve?

image

A confrontation between Lee Yoo-mi (Song Ji-eun) and her mother has finally happened. I almost lost hope last episode that there would be some sort of redemption to Jo Mi-hee’s character but this is a good character development for both of them. As Jung Hyun-tae pointed out, Yoo-mi has tendency to push people away from her when she’s hurt. But this time, she faced her mother and and divulged all of her resentment to her mother. This is a huge thing for her.Worth mentioning is Mi-hee’s crying scene. This veteran actress always crack me up with her laid-back cool-mom antics but during that I teared up during on few seconds of her looking so hurt after the confrontation with her daughter.

image

Our second lead only has one scene for the whole episode but it is, I think, one of the highlights of this episode. Cha Jin-wook (Sung Hoon) was desperate to find Yoo-mi and Hyun-tae gave him a good punch in the face for hurting her again. Although in the end, Hyun-tae still told Jin-wook of Yoo-mi’s possible location.Reading between the lines, it was clear Hyun-tae was letting go of his feelings for Yoo-mi.

image

Yoo-mi’s decision to go to the East Coast beach where she met Jin-wook felt more like a time for rethinking than an escape. Her character is gradually becoming more in-tune with her feelings which would make her inline with Jin-wook’s unwavering feelings. Her longing for Jin-wook was really evident during a scene with Jin-wook’s mother, whom she met by chance on the street.

image
I didn’t realize I miss seeing Yoo-mi and Jin-wook together until the moment they finally met again. That coin scene was probably one of the best squeal-worthy moments in the whole series. The musical scoring, the shots, and the actors’ performance were so on point, I almost forgave all the mischances of this drama.

image

I’m now totally in love with Jin-wook’s character and how he is so sure about Yoo-mi. He kind of addressed one bothering thought in my mind that why a young Casanova like him couldn’t forget Yoo-mi after just one night with her. I thought it was a tiny plot hole that could be ignored because it happens to other stories as well. But nah, Jin-wook made sure I’ll love him without flaws (haha). That line where he said he love the Yoo-mi now and not the Yoo-mi in his memory was a statement of his certainty with all of this things. It was also a great show of trust when he opened up about his mother to Yoo-mi. It sort of explained why Jin-wook was hurt when Yoo-mi left while he was asleep. It pained him because it was almost similar to the way his mother left him.

image

image

Now that our male lead has laid all of his cards, I expect Yoo-mi to do the same in the finale episode. It is now up to her to make the next move and decide on whether she is willing to be with Jin-wook regardless of outside factors. At this moment, Yoo-mi is at the cusp of becoming a TSTL character (which I really love to hate) if she couldn’t redeem herself.

image

“Let’s be a coin” by Won Tae Yeon
I know it’s useless now but let’s pray to be like a coin.
You’re the front side and I’m the back side.
When one side is missing, the coin is thrown away.
Let’s pray to be like a coin.
Even if we can’t see each other, we’re always together.
Even if we can’t check on each other, we’re together forever.
Let’s pray to be like a coin.

<< K-Drama Reaction: My Secret Romance | Episode 11
<< K-Drama Reactions: My Secret Romance | Episode 10
<< K-Drama Reaction: My Secret Romance | Episode 9
<< K-Drama Reaction: My Secret Romance | Episode 8
<< K-Drama Reaction: My Secret Romance | Episode 7
<< K-Drama Reaction: My Secret Romance | Episode 6
<< K-Drama Reaction: My Secret Romance | Episode 5
<< K-Drama Reaction: My Secret Romance | Episode 4
<< K-Drama Reaction: My Secret Romance | Episode 3
<< K-Drama Reaction: My Secret Romance | Episode 2
<< K-Drama Reaction: My Secret Romance | Episode 1

