image

I’ve been hoping for some kind of character development in the last episode and I was given what I asked, even if it was for the good and the bad.
image
image
image
image

Let’s start with the bad, sort of. There is no other way to describe Cha Jin-wook (Sung Hoon) throughout this episode other than he is annoying. I was expecting that as he and Lee Yoo-mi (Song Ji-eun) interact more, he would become less of a jerk and more of the sensible guy I’ve seen during their beach scene. But I’m not losing hope since I’ve seen worse in dramaland. Another reason why I don’t conclude that Jin-wook is just a shallow, elementary-brained, and good for nothing chaebol is because of Jin-wook’s silent moments. When he’s at home alone in his sofa bed, even for a few seconds, a glimpse of a lonely child is showing. Moments like that makes me yearn for more. But nah, writer-nim keeps on adding slapstick and over-the-top scenes instead.
image
image

I still want to defend Jin-wook’s ridiculous orders to Yoo-mi as his way of being jealous. Because, just like other K-drama male lead, he doesn’t know how to show his feelings for Yoo-mi. Heck, he doesn’t even realize he already likes her in the first place. Thankfully, Yoo-mi is not a martyr. Okay, she follows everything that Jin-wook orders, but that is because she needs the freaking job. A society slave indeed. Yoo-mi voices out what she feels when confronted. So when Jin-wook said he finally figured out that Yoo-mi’s hiccups is because of him, Yoo-mi told him it was because he makes her feel uncomfortable. I do think Yoo-mi was being honest with what she said. It shows that Yoo-mi and Jin-wook are not yet aware of their growing feelings for each other. Their chemistry during such scenes always makes my weak heart flutter. Yoo-mi and Jin-wook could make the most cliche scenes better just because they look good together. That is why it is hard for me to root for the second lead even though he is more interesting and charming as well.
image
image
image
image

Jung Hyun-tae is becoming more and more of a trusted confidante to Yoo-mi than a childhood crush. So I’m scratching my theory out. Hyun-tae is true-blue K-drama second lead: nice guy, good looking, and treats our female lead better than the main lead. But Hyun-tae is what Filipino call as ‘torpe.’ Hyun-tae had me expect for nothing during the scene where he was about to tell Yoo-mi something but suddenly changed his mind. Darn, I’m sure he was about to tell Yoo-mi his real feelings. I therefore conclude that he likes Yoo-mi since high school. My hypotheses were backed by the fact (or a scene for this matter) where he was frustrated with himself because he can’t do anything for the girl he likes.
image
image
image
image

Yoo-mi seems so oblivious of Hyun-tae’s feelings that she kept on confiding everything to him. In her drunk state, she unloads her frustrations to her work as well as to her mother. She recalls how she was bullied by her high school classmates because of her mother’s work as an erotic actress. It was clear how those things affected her. She can’t even dress the way she likes because she was afraid of being judged by other people. She resents her mother, even blaming her for that (fateful) night she spent with Jin-wook. It just shows how vulnerable Yoo-mi is. So, Jin-wook, please will you man-up already?
image
image
image
image

As if my wish was heard by dramagods, Jin-wook sort-of did what I asked. The ever-annoying (insert all bloody words I can use to describe irritating antagonist) Joo Hye-ri ordered packed lunches for the TV crew, who interviewed Jin-wook, despite knowing Yoo-mi prepared food for all of them. This scheming brat got what she deserved when Jin-wook blatantly ignored her attempts to make them look like a couple in front of everyone. And yas! Jin-wook left her when she saw how Yoo-mi was disappointed that her efforts are all for not. Jin-wook confronted Yoo-mi who surprised me by apologizing to him. Okaaay, so she misunderstood why Jin-wook was making her life difficult. She thought Jin-wook’s treasure box is a proposal gift for Hye-ri. I wanted Jin-wook to clear this misunderstanding but Yoo-mi just received a call, informing her Jin-wook was in hospital.
image

To be honest, I was ranting about My Secret Romance to a friend last week. I told her how I thought this drama would give me all the banters and giddy scenes I thought it would have based on its pilot episode. But I started to realize My Secret Romance didn’t promise me it would be a groundbreaking series. It was promoted as a series full of romantic feels. And it was giving me that. Yes, I still hope that things would get better because the characters could still be fleshed out more (wait, that sounded morbid). What I meant was the characters, particularly Jin-wook, shouldn’t be taken at face-value at this point. Plus, PD-nim is giving me open scenes where I can let my imagination run freely and interpret what was going on with the characters’ minds. With renewed patience, I hope all my expectations would be met sooner than later.


<< K-Drama Reaction: My Secret Romance | Episode 4
<< K-Drama Reaction: My Secret Romance | Episode 3
<< K-Drama Reaction: My Secret Romance | Episode 2

<< K-Drama Reaction: My Secret Romance | Episode 1

