image

I was actually wondering why Cha Jin-wook (Sung Hoon) held a grudge to Lee Yoo-mi (Song Ji-eun). It turns out that it was about his wool coat. No, I’m kidding. It isn’t just about his freakin wool coat. It’s more than that.
image

After Jin-wook finally revealed his identity to Yoo-mi, our lovely nutritionist started a game of cat and mouse. But girl, if you want to avoid a guy you hooked-up with make sure you’re not working at his company. Jin-wook ordered Yoo-mi to personally deliver his meals, leaving her no choice but to see him three times a day. So Yoo-mi decided to do what any (in)sensible human would do, pretend you don’t remember anything.
image
image
image
Yoo-mi confided her situation to her author-friend Jung Hyun-tae, who found Yoo-mi’s situation interesting. Before he even said it, I really thought Hyun-tae would want to write Yoo-mi’s story in a book. And (drum roll) I was right (smug face). Yoo-mi then asked if Hyun-tae do such escapades while writing his books. He refused to comment and it annoyed Yoo-mi so much she walked out. Hyun-tae (and I) was left wondering why Yoo-mi became irritated. Hyun-tae refused to believe his hunch but I would stick with my prediction. Yoo-mi feels something for her friend.
image
image

On the other hand, Jin-wook leveled up his game on making Yoo-mi’s life in Daebok miserable. He teased her with things that could definitely make her remember the night they spend together. I find it really adorable that Jin-wook remembers the smallest of detail like the wine brand and the song that was playing while they were on the beach.
image
image

I was actually expecting Jin-wook’s teasing would at least last an episode or two but Yoo-mi couldn’t take it anymore. She finally acknowledged that something happened between the two of them. And when Yoo-mi told Jin-wook it was just a one-night stand, my heart ached for Jin-wook. He didn’t say it per se but his expression made me think it wasn’t just an ordinary one-night stand for him. I also kind of understand Yoo-mi’s reason for leaving. She was afraid as she was not used to those kinds of feelings. Plus, both of them were still young back then.
image
image
image

As if Yoo-mi’s day couldn’t get any worse, she found her mother (Nam Gi-ae), who is now separated, and her little brother Dong-goo (Joo Sang-hyuk) at Hyun-tae’s coffee shop. She was frustrated with her mother but in the end, she still let them stay with her. The next day, Yoo-mi was already prepared to get fired and was so gloomy at work. The cafeteria head (Kim Si-Young) made pancakes and told Yoo-mi to bring some for Jin-wook so he would be kinder to her. Aw, she is nice and caring afterall.
image
image

A rom-com would not be complete without the annoying girl who would insist it was her rightful place to be with the male lead. I wasn’t bothered at all by Joo Hye-ri’s presence in the past episodes but I totally want to kick her out of Jin-wook’s office as soon as she called him oppa. Of course, Yoo-mi saw Hye-ri acting so clingy to Jin-wook. Yoo-mi suddenly noticed stains on her uniform and recalled how she was bullied at school. The scene triggered Yoo-mi to remember every little thing that is wrong with her. Poor girl.
image
image

Hye-ri was so irritating up until the last scene where she acted like Jin-wook’s girlfriend and ordered Yoo-mi to use everything she bought for Jin-wook’s meals. But our Jin-wook suddenly intervened and told Hye-ri he only ate food that Yoo-mi prepared. This is why I don’t easily get mad with male leads in dramaland. Because as much as they are jerk and childish in their way of getting a girl’s attention, they would do such thing that would make someone’s heart pounding.
image

image

I was really curious with how the story would progress now that the major plot was established. My Secret Romance kept its storytelling slow-paced and just dropped glimpses of the characters’ hidden insecurities that held them back. I’m getting impatient to see some character development. But it’s a good sign I guess because that means I want to watch more of it, right?

<< K-Drama Reaction: My Secret Romance | Episode 2

<< K-Drama Reaction: My Secret Romance | Episode 1

