I love this show! I love how it makes me think deeper about its plot and its characters. I love shows like these that make me contemplate about everything in life, but still get me hooked.

Fotor_149293678962053

We start off this week’s offering with the flashbacks of Baek Tae-min (Kwak Si-yang) about his past relationship with our hero Han Se-joo (Yoo Ah-in). They seemed to be in a brotherly relationship. Se-joo used to live with the Baek family, and we see in Tae-min’s flashbacks that Se-joo wrote the first draft of “Fate” (which we know in the present timeline is Tae-min’s first novel). The events leading as to why “Fate” was eventually published as Tae-min’s work is still unknown; but it is probably safe to say that this was one of the reasons why their relationship turned sour.

Fotor_149293579670269

I am also very disappointed with Tae-min in this episode. I even wrote about my confidence in him in my past reactions, and how I hoped that he is just a misunderstood person with so much burden after being compared to Se-joo most of his life. But today, we witnessed a different side of him. The side which I never thought I’d see in this series. I thought he would be just a typical rival with deep-rooted ill feelings, but the fact that he was able to hurt his own pet says something more about his personality. As I mentioned in last week’s review, a person who mistreats animals is evil. And now, he threw his own cat? No wonder Se-joo feels disgusted by the mere sight of him. I cannot stand watching a person act kind in public, but hurt helpless creatures in private.

Fotor_14929359224096

Our poor heroine Jeon Seol (Im Soo-jung) has been bombarded with prank calls and hate messages since her scandal with Se-joo broke out (thanks to Tae-min’s mother and that third-rate reporter, by the way). But her ability to forget every single mean thing that Se-joo said to her is truly admirable. She is the epitome of the saying, “Once a fan girl, always a fan girl.” I laughed out loud when cheered for Se-joo on SNS despite the delayed release of the “Chicago Typewriter” manuscript. She cursed at those netizens for bashing her idol writer. I thought you would stop being her fan, Seol-ssi?

Fotor_14929375797267

Our heroine’s friend Ma Bang-jin’s cutesy crush on Yoo Jin-oh (Go Kyung-pyo) is also a breath of fresh air in this complex dramaverse. We may get hints about Jin-oh’s fascination with Seol, but I am quietly shipping these two cute characters in my own story line.

Fotor_149293669944383

Speaking of Jin-oh and Seol, I am still at crossroads as to how I should interpret their relationship in the past. Seol’s past self Ryu Soo-hyun is depicted as an independent fighter during the Japanese occupation. We see glimpses of Soo-hyun hiding from authorities with help from Jin-oh. Jin-oh also confesses his feelings for Soo-hyun during his conversation with past Se-joo (Seo Hwi-young). I guess this love line has something to do with their reincarnations?

Fotor_149293702402490

Jin-oh’s revelation about finishing the “Chicago Typewriter” manuscript for him to live still remains a mystery as of date, but we finally confirmed that he is indeed a ghost! Ah, this show. The ghostwriter undertone should be taken figuratively and literally.

Fotor_149293727474291Fotor_149293660942512

Se-joo’s pain while contemplating between using Jin-oh’s manuscript and writing his own version is also so heart-wrenching. Yoo Ah-in deserves commendation for this scene. The fact that he is courageous enough to hold a press conference about his ghost writer is truly admirable. He is still holding on to his principle of writing stories that no one can imitate, despite being unable to produce any good quality material.

Fotor_149293644265170

Our main couple also had their unofficial date in this episode. I almost freaked out after seeing Se-joo waiting for Seol outside the vet clinic. His smile is every fan girl’s dream. No wonder Seol eventually forgets that they just had an argument the other day. Their growing closeness slowly helps Se-joo to loosen up and break out of his shell. Se-joo’s smile after a long day of frustration is a satisfying sight to see.

Fotor_149293714307179

Fotor_149293629875425

Chicago Typewriter is that kind of show some viewers may not appreciate because of its complexity. This may be a turn-off for some who want the feel-good, no nonsense dramas, but I hope more people will learn to appreciate the clever writing, impressive direction and cinematography, and remarkable acting that this show offers us every episode. Help me promote this show, will ya?

Fotor_149293741051564

<< K-Drama Reaction: Chicago Typewriter | Episode 4
<< K-Drama Reaction: Chicago Typewriter | Episode 3
<< K-Drama Reaction: Chicago Typewriter | Episode 2
<< K-Drama Reaction: Chicago Typewriter | Episode 1

